Abstaining cravings during pregnany

Is it okay to abstain from cravings during pregnancy? I've been trying really hard to abstain from my cravings but I can't seem to stop thinking about my cravings every day. I salivate a lot and it feels really bad to consume food that I know is beneficial for me, but at the same time not what I really want at the moment. I've been avoiding spicy and sweet foods for a few months now and I feel like I'm reaching my limit.. Do you give in to your own cravings, or were you able to avoid eating foods that are not good for you such as sweets and fast food?

14 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

Yes, it is okay to abstain from cravings during pregnancy. It's important to focus on consuming foods that are beneficial for you and your baby's health. However, it's also understandable that it can be difficult to resist cravings, especially when you salivate a lot and feel bad about not consuming the food you really want. I personally have experienced similar struggles during my pregnancy. What helped me was finding healthier alternatives to satisfy my cravings. For example, if I craved something sweet, I would opt for fruits or yogurt instead of desserts. If I wanted something spicy, I would try seasoning my meals with herbs and mild spices instead of indulging in extremely spicy foods. It's important to listen to your body and find a balance. If you feel like you're reaching your limit, it's okay to give in to your cravings occasionally, as long as it's in moderation and doesn't compromise your overall diet. Remember to consult your healthcare provider for personalized advice as well. Take care and remember that you're doing great! https://invl.io/cll6she

Read more