Are babies left alone to play by themselves at infant care

Is it normal for babies to be left alone to play by themselves at infant care ? Ive always thought the teachers will play or talk to them but i picked up my 2 months old and he was placed at a corner on a mat, with toys at the side(which he dont look interested in) and my heart sank to the very most bottom. He must’ve felt lonely. I know sometimes baby needs to play independently what if he’s always playing alone the whole day 😣 and he’s the youngest in the centre

3 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply
Thành viên VIP

No offence here. I'm a teacher and a parent. And i chose not to put my baby in infantcare because I've seen this many times. Not gonna name centres or teachers. So yes many babies to teachers and theres only so many times teachers can play with babies. If us as mothers are overwhelmed with one baby, imagine a teacher in charge of five babies in a room of ten crying screaming babies. But then I've also seen my fair share of whole blocks of three hours of no singing, interaction or storytelling either so i am furious too when i see this happening. Anyway if u don't need to put baby for long in infant care maybe you can avoid it but this is a luxury and privilege. If there's a grandparent or helper that's reliable, do let them pick up early and encourage them for the interaction for the rest of the day before u come back from work or something. At this age, babies generally need singing, hugs, lots of touch n warmth, rocking, talking, soothing sounds. Not much for under four months. Maybe tracking (looking at toys), looking at high contrast colours (red black white). And babies are not able to play independently. It's literally a taught skill to play, and there's the definition of play n the variations too. A whole can of worms here. So it's almost impossible for an infantcare teacher to be with ur baby all the time. Lets give the benefit of doubt that baby wasn't left all by himself all day. And