Hi mummies with 1 yo babies, can share your helper's work schedule? It's my first time hiring a helper and she is coming on Tuesday! TIA!

4 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

hmm.. it depends on whether you intend for your helper to look after your baby or simply focus on household chores. My brother-in-law's family only requires their maid to attend to the household chores and cooking meals for the family (except baby). They preferred to handle all baby-related tasks themselves. So, what they did was that they gave their helper a list of household chores that needs to be completed. Some of the chores are performed daily and some are done on a weekly/fortnightly/monthly basis. Apart from stating what time lunch and dinner need to be ready, they do not specify the order in which the chores need to be completed and left that up to their helper's planning. Some tips they shared are to communicate clearly to your helper. Set the ground rules from the start. Also, do not assume that your helper knows how to do the task (or perform the task the way you prefer). Thus, always demonstrate how you would like things done (and be prepared to remind her since it does take time to get used to a new way of doing things). Not sure if this is useful for you but all the best!! Hope it will be a good start for both you and your helper!! :)

Read more